Jazzgasm

It’s been a while since I’ve sat down and really enjoyed some nice, contemporary jazz.

I mean yeah, I occasionally revisit the classics.

Like this

Or this

And even this

But there ain’t nothing like some fresh-sounding new shit. My initial emergence into the jazz genre had me saying things like, “Jazz is dead. All the good stuff is pre-2000.” Stupid, right? But hey, you can’t blame me. The trove for classic jazz records is bottomless, and I didn’t know where else to look. But it wasn’t until I did further digging that I was able to appreciate the 21st century stuff. For example…

…these fucking guys. I could write an entire blog post about them. They helped my entire generation get into jazz.

…this album. It’s one of the 21st century’s greatest. See it live here (WARNING: life-changing video).

This dude came out of nowhere when I discovered him last year. I couldn’t find the album, but this track comes from it. It’s absolutely incredible.

 

ANYWAYS, back to the music at hand.

I found this album recently while making my Bandcamp and it really hit the spot. THat contemporary jazz spot.

The dude is from London and he seems to take a lot of influence from the area. London is where one of those places where som nay different kinds of people, ideas, and cultures coalesce into something beautiful

Black Focus by Yussef Kamaal is certainly a product of that.

Upon first listen, the record seems lowkey and subtle. But there’s a ton going on here. You can hear psychedelica, grime, broke beat, funk, electronica, and hip-hop nods throughout. I needed this. I really did.

Check it out. You’ll be glad you did (regardless of your feelings on jazz).

 

Leave a Reply

